FlashBak: Historical Photographer – Irving Penn

Irving Penn is one of my favorite historical fashion photographers. His first vogue cover was featured in October 1943 and he continued working in fashion for many years. I don’t want to spend too much times focused on his life, but more on his work.

His images inspire me so much. He was a pioneer in the simplistic white and grey backgrounds allowing his subjects to stand out more. The way that he captures beauty and expresses his creativity is amazing.

Below I am going to post some of my favorite images that he captured.





Anyway I hope that you enjoyed these images. If you want a more in depth background of Irving Penn, check out his wikipedia page as well as his vogue page.

Please feel free to leave your thoughts on Penn’s work and if/how it inspires you.  I would love feedback from my readers!  Art is all about collaboration and working together to find something greater.

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk