Elle is always one of my favorite magazines to look to for amazing fashion photography inspiration! This issue featured three different shoots that are all equally stunning and influential in their own unique ways. This first post is going to focus on my favorite of the three!

This spread is entitled “Power Trip” and is one of my favorite shoots that I have seen in a long time. There are some amazing uses of “hip” and “trendy” filter-style additions to the images, yet done tastefully. Let me just show you! 🙂

1. David Bellemere // Power Trip // http://thomastreuhaft.com/photographers/david-bellemere/

The first thing that I want to point out in these images are the extremely creative use of light leaks and special effects. As you will see in the images below they are used in almost every one of the pictures. Normally I find this type of thing kind of tacky and almost cliche. There are about 6000 apps that do these same types of light leaks, which can make this type of work typically look trashy.

The images look like they were taken in very harsh lighting during the middle of the day. That makes the light leaks actually work properly first off. I also like that the leaks frame the body of the model and actually discount the male model without taking him out of the picture. This is a great way to force the eye to look at what you want it to look at.

IMG_0005

Taking things from trendy and overused concepts in the photography industry and turning them into a creative and unique spin on your images is what separates amateurs from professionals. I have seen creative uses of light leaks before, but not like this specific style. It just really impresses me.

would like to know what you guys think of this body of work. I find it very creative and inspiring. I love finding shoots like these that really show the versatility in a photographer and break every rule I was every taught in school. The best images are those that break the rules and make you wanting more.

As always let me know what you think in the comments below! What do you love, what do you hate? I love you all and appreciate all your support!

This was the first of the three featurettes for Elle July 2015. Make sure to check out the next two when they come out! 🙂

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk