This is me! Portra 800, cross processed, and edited to B&W.

Hey everyone! Long time since I last posted! Sorry! This semester is my last and has been so busy! But I graduate in like 10 days so it is time to start posting again!

For this last semester I have been taking a film class. I can’t say I love film, but it definitely adds some interesting characteristics to the imagery. The class was mainly focused on 35mm black and white film, but I decided to go outside of my comfort zone and try other mediums of film!

SHOOT

This specific shoot was focused on big and bold looking hair. I wanted something that was very “TRESemmé” so that I could practice using strobes pro properly highlight the hair waves. I chose a blonde model with LONG luscious hair. My stylist added large wave curls into her hair with a simple make up palette to compliment the hair. I planned on using butterfly lighting with very little additional lighting to keep things simple.

INSPIRATION

EQUIPMENT

Digital

  • D800
  • Pocket Wizard Plus X (2 of them)
  • 24-70mm Nikkor Lens
  • 70-200mm Nikkor Lens
  • Manfrotto 055 Tripod

Film

  • Holga 120n (2 of them)
  • Kodak Portra 800 Color Film
  • Kodak TMax 100 B&W Film
  • Pocket Wizard Plus X (3 of them)

Lighting

  • Paul C. Buff Einstein
  • Paul C. Buff White Lightning x800 (3 of them)

RESULT: DIGITAL

Taken with D800 and three White Lightnings. This was “high-end” retouched with photoshop.

RESULT: COLOR FILM

These were taken with the Portra 800 film in the Holga 120n and one single Einstein light.

RESULT: B&W FILM

These were taken with the TMax 100 film in the Holga 120n and one to three white lightning strobes.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I had a lot of fun shooting these images. The digital image was fairly easy for me, I have done shoots like these many times before. The Holga was quite a new experience. The Holga cannot change f-stop or shutter speed. The focal length is fixed. I had to tape down specific distances to stand in order togged these images in focus.

The process really was good for me because it allowed me to appreciate all of the settings that I have on my digital camera. Not being able to see the images that I was taking really made me focus on every little specific detail of the model. It makes me pay attention more to the model and the look that I want to achieve.

Have any of you guys ever used film in your photography? Do you know of any current fashion photographers who still use film? One of my favorites is Emily Soto, so you should definitely go check her out!

Please feel free to leave your thoughts!

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk