FlashBak: Historical Photographer – Man Ray

Photographer Man Ray was a man of many talents. His artistic abilities included panting, film, and photography. He was best known for his surrealist images and work with the female form. His photography was extremely refreshing to the fashion industry because of his artistic eye. His work in fashion was about taking these women and portraying their bodies and their clothes in interesting and unique ways!

Ray had a an extremely specific and unique artistic voice. His style went almost contrary to the tides that the rest of the fashion industry followed. His models never seem to be looking into the camera. He uses poses and lighting that makes his images almost unreal. Through his vision of fashion he created something beautiful and something game changing.

man_ray_werbung_f_r_bergdorf_goodman_1930-1

Personally I find his work very strange. Knowing that he has a surrealist background does make it a lot easier for me to understand where Ray is coming from. I do think that the images show a more elegant and simple beauty with the models. The fashion is sheer and delicate. I don’t know that I would want to try to emulate much of his work in my own, but I can appreciate the qualities he had of being a new voice in fashion.



Please feel free to leave your thoughts on Ray’s work or even what I had to say about his life and history.  I would love feedback from my readers!  Art is all about collaboration and working together to find something greater.

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk