wanted to try something new this month! Rather than doing one big giant post about all of my favorite shoots from a fashion magazine I am going to do featurettes, or miniature posts each referencing one shoot from the magazine. This week I am going to be reviewing Marie Claire April 2015. There were SO MANY good shoots in this magazine, I am obsessed with it in every way!

This is the last of the three posts about this issue of Marie Claire, make to here out the first post here and the second post here. Now! Lets just jump right in! 🙂

The third spread is by far my favorite of the three spreads that I have covered in this issue. It is… Strange and obscure to say the least. And I think that is why I love it so much. I often find myself more drawn to the spreads that are weird. Now, that isn’t totally true because I have seen some spreads that are just plain creepy af and that’s not appealing to me. But weird and obscure I like.

1. Chad Pitman // Sea Change // http://www.chadpitman.com

One of the first things that I noticed about this shoot that I liked was the weird posing. The model looks really bored and socially awkward in her posture and facial expressions. She definitely isn’t the standard “beautiful” that you usually see, but I would argue that I find her more beautiful. The model expresses this simplistic, almost innocent vibe in the way she acts in front of the camera.

If you couldn’t tell the theme of the shoot is nautical. There is a very airy and ocean-like feel to all of the images. Something intriguing to me about this spread though is the background. It’s kind of ugly and weird. It’s like all of these different textures and tones white backgrounds with a dirty looking floor. It fits with the look of the model so well in my opinion. The images are all very bright as well which really works with the white scenery to fit the airy theme.

The last thing I wanted to point out is the lighting perfection in each image. Just look at how the light rests on the models skin. It is beautiful. It’s bright, but no detail is lost, there is shadow, but the skin tone is still perfect. I have done quite a few shoots lately using strobes and other lighting tools and man is it hard to get the perfect skin tone and highlight on the face. Most of the time I just fix the mistakes in photoshop. Obviously these images were touched up on photoshop as well, but it is still clear that he knows what he is doing and how to get the perfect lighting.

Just look at that sick bracelet she is wearing. And those buttons! Stunning. Perfection. Beautiful. Fashion.

As always let me know what you think in the comments below! What do you love, what do you hate? I love you all and appreciate all your support!

This was the last of the three featurettes for Marie Claire April 2015. Make sure to check out the first two if you haven’t seen them yet! 🙂

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk