wanted to try something new this month! Rather than doing one big giant post about all of my favorite shoots from a fashion magazine I am going to do featurettes, or miniature posts each referencing one shoot from the magazine. This week I am going to be reviewing Marie Claire April 2015. There were SO MANY good shoots in this magazine, I am obsessed with it in every way! Lets just jump right in! 🙂

Fashion Magazine Featurette: Marie Claire – April 2015 – 1 of 3

The first of these three featurettes is going to include the shoot on the cover of Kerry Washington. First I just want to say that she is gorgeous and the pictures are stunning because of it. This is very similar to the shoot I featured on Robin Wright because both are actresses and as such are portrayed differently than everyday fashion models.

There is something really interesting about celebrity photography. It is a lot more engaging to me than normal fashion photography. The models in fashion are typically just used as accessories to the clothes, hair, make up, and props. However when celebrities are involved in fashion they become the focus and everything else like the clothes and hair suddenly becomes secondary. Lets just go ahead and explore this idea! 🙂

1. TESH // Very Kerry // http://www.teshstudios.com

The photographer used for this series is called TESH. Apparently the photographers name is Suzanne Siriotis, but the business is titled TESH Photographer. I have never head about this photographer before reading this issue. However, after checking out her portfolio online, I am really impressed. She has done a ton of work with celebrities in the past so it is no surprise that she was chosen to photograph Kerry Washington.

I love all of these photographs because I feel that they capture Kerry’s personality so well. I said the same thing basically about the images of Robin. The photographs themselves are not anything special or breathtaking, but they are true to who the person is. I love the simple posing, perfect lighting, and playful attitude. Simplicity is key when trying to portray the beauty of a woman.

This image is my favorite because it almost feels like “posed candids”. A simple black background, not even seamless, a plain stool, a white shirt and black pants, and casual poses. It takes away all of the stereotypes of over-the-top crazy fashion images and brings it back to the realistic beauty of Kerry Washington. Well done TESH, well done!

As always let me know what you think in the comments below! What do you love, what do you hate? I love you all and appreciate all your support!

The next featurette will be in two days and the last of the three two days after that!

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk