Before & After: Retouching Exposed – Alise

have been editing more than ever lately! 🙂 The image featured today is one that I just fell in love with. It isn’t really anything too exciting or jaw dropping, but it is beautiful. I found an image that I knew I just needed to try to replicate. As I have said before I have lots of stylists that I have been working with this last few months. One of them is really good with braids and actually does an amazing job with them.

The featured image is another one from my beauty series. The focus is all on the model’s hair and gorgeous eyes. I wanted all of the distractions of heavy make up and clothing removed. The simple beauty of a woman is what I wanted to bring out in the photograph.

INSPIRATION:

In this image I loved the simplicity. The model’s eyes are really able to stand out above everything else in the photo. I didn’t really love the pink/red around the eye though and the pose seemed a little too simple.

LIGHTING SETUP:

This lighting setup was almost identical to the last B&A I featured. I wanted butterfly lighting directly above the head of the model. Unlike in the inspiration I didn’t want so much shadow under the chin, so I put a reflector under the models face. I actually used my 85mm lens this time and only had about 9 inches of space to shoot through between the beauty dish and the reflector. I also did a white background with a light shining behind it again to achieve pure white behind the model.

THE IMAGE:

I was obsessed with everything about this image. The length of her neck, the expression on her face, the lighting, the braid, and literally everything about this image was perfect.

When I first saw this image on my computer I had a miniature heart attack to be honest. It was perfect and EXACTLY what I was going for! There were quite a few things that I needed to edit in order to make it a true beauty shot, but I had the perfect canvas I could have found. The biggest two things that annoyed me about the image was the neck and the eyes. The neck seemed just a little too crinkled and wide. That would be easily fixed though. Second, the eyes were just too much. The eye liner was much to thick and the bottom eyelashes were LONG and dark. They took away from the simple look that I was going for.

AFTER EDITING:

The image turned out exactly how I wanted it to turn out to be frank. The skin is flawless. The contouring is perfect. The only thing I am not really that happy with is the next. It looks fake. I smoothed it out way too much and now it just looks plastic. But I thought everything else was awesome! It was exactly what I wanted to accomplish at the end of the process.

ended up using the same combination of tools that I did with Chelsey. I am really starting to create my own editing style without needing to refer to my notes or anything. It feels nice! 🙂 I also did use Emily Soto’s FashionAction Beauty Skin again. It does an amazing job at evening skin tone and taking images to the next level.

BEFORE & AFTER:

CHANGES:

  • Plucked eyebrows.
  • Removed long eyelashes.
  • Smoothed skin.
  • Contoured skin.
  • Evened out skin tone.
  • Reshaped neck and ears.
  • Enhanced eye color.

As always I would love to know what you guys think of the image. I know that not everyone is going to like this image and some will potentially be offended by just how much work I did to change it. BUT regardless I would love to hear your opinion. Likes, dislikes, and constructive criticism are always welcome!

For more of my work please visit my website at www.kirkstanovich.com or my fashion portfolio at www.kspfashion.com!

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk