Kirk Stanovich Fashion Photography: BreAna Thomas – Jan 19th

This is my first post doing this sort of thing, but I wanted to be able to share with you guys some of my own person fashion photography work. I spend a lot of time researching and looking up other photographers, but I am a photographer as well. This is an opportunity to share with you all my own work and how I am growing as a photographer.

I would love to know what you all think of my work and how I could improve. I am always looking for ways to grow as a photographer and find my own voice. So please feel free to critique my work or even just share your simple thoughts.



For this post I am going to feature fashion blogger BreAna Thomas, who I have worked with now for about 4 months. She is an absolute delight to work with and is always pushing me to think outside of the box and be creative! She is also a beautiful model and takes stunning images!

For these images I wanted a really simple set up. I didn’t bring any strobes, which is pretty rare for me these days, so I was dependent on the natural light from the sun. It being winter, the lighting outside is almost always extremely diffused. I have found that using strobes outside in diffused lighting always ends up darkening the background so much that the images look photoshopped right out of the camera. So instead of letting that happen again, I chose to let the sun do its thing!

We found this building with big window walls as our location. I love using windows or glass walls for photography for a lot of reason. Firstly, I love how the light bounces around glass. It creates a very unique mood. Second, I love reflections. Reflections of the model, reflections of the surrounding, or even reflections of me. Using reflections adds a whole different dimension to the image. And Lastly, I love the layers the come along with glass. There are items being reflected from the outside, but also items inside the glass that peek through the reflections. It is a complex and unique experience shooting glass.

One thing that I really wanted to focus on was posing in interesting and unique ways. As a fashion blogger, BreAna is used to “pretty” poses and smiles and simple relatable content. However, we both like to switch it up a bit and try things out of the ordinary. With these images, we decided that we wanted to fully utilize this great location with interesting posing. Now I don’t consider myself a master poser in any way, but I am very meticulous with my posing. I pay attention to every detail. I make sure that every inch of the model is how I want from the way the toes are pointed to how the top hair on her head are blowing in the wind. I am very happy with how these poses turned out and the mood they created for the images.

Those were my 4 favorite images from the shoot. I am very happy with how they turned out and the quality of image they are. I did not edit them in Photoshop, like I normally do with my fashion images, I just stuck with simple Lightroom editing to keep the images as raw as possible.



would love to hear your guys’ opinions on these images. I had so much fun taking these pictures and I always love getting feedback. I will be posting more of these types of posts in the coming future, because I will be shooting much more frequently through the next few months!

If you have any suggestions on a type of shoot you would like to see or a theme I should incorporate into a photo shoot I would love to hear your ideas! Please leave a comment below with your thoughts!

Until next time, live your dreams and may passion never die!

Kirk